NOUVEL HAY MAGAZINE SANS FRONTIÈRES

L'Arménie se joint aux 5 pays de l'UE pour les sanctions contre les Turcs responsables de forage illégal à Chypre

BRUSSELS — Armenia along with five countries has joined the sanctions mechanism against Turkey for illegal exploration work on the Cyprus shelf in the exclusive economic zone of the Republic of Cyprus, the EU council said in a released statement.

The decision, reflecting a broader deterioration in EU ties with Turkey, aims to punish Ankara for violating Cyprus' maritime economic zone by drilling off the divided island. It follows a separate decision to stop new arms sales by EU governments to Turkey over Ankara's Oct. 9 incursion into Syria.

"The countries that are candidates for accession to the EU, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania, as well as Iceland, a member of the European Economic Area, as well as Armenia have joined this decision", the statement said. The document notes that now the mentioned countries will have to coordinate their policies with Council Decision concerning restrictive measures in view of Turkey's unauthorized drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean.

This decision will make it possible to sanction individuals or entities re....